Life-List

As promised in my previous blog here is my life-list.

1. The song that best describes you
The song that best describes me is probably the most difficult of this list.  But if I had to choose a song from my music collection it would have to be My Way – Frank Sinatra.  Whilst I don’t think that I necessarily fit the lyrics fully, and I hope that I am not as close to the end of my earthly journey as the main themes of the song suggest, rather it is the title of this song that describes something of me.  I like to do things my way, as anybody who knows me well will attest to.  I can be very stubborn at times, and live by two simple rules; No. 1 I am always right, and No. 2 In the case where I am not right refer to rule 1.

2. Your rock song
I am not a real rock fan and looking through the tunes on my iPod it is difficult to find a song that would even fit in the rock genre.  My rock song choice is therefore We Will Rock You – Queen.  This features on my iPod as part of the soundtrack to A Knights Tale, a movie that I believe was only as great as it was because of the music that it featured.

3. Your love song
Why choose one love song when you can have all the greats.  Elephant Love Melody from Moulin Rouge, featuring every great love song ever written.  This is one of the great movie scenes of all time, but just for a change have a look at the following arrangement; Men’s Octet – Elephant Love Medley.  I trust you will get as much enjoyment from it as I did.

4. Your childhood song
Whilst not strictly from my childhood, more from my early teenage years, my choice for this category speaks more about the era in which I grew up in than any other.  It also featured on the first album that I remember owning and therefore has a special place in my life-list.  Barbie Girl by Aqua resonates with anyone who was a teenager in the 90’s and when played sparks a plethora of memories for most people of my generation.  Why not take a listen and relive some of those great 90’s music moments.

5. Your ‘pump-up’ song
For those who don’t know, I spent two years (2006 and 2007) working on a voluntary basis for the Church with a team of young people running retreats for high school students across our Archdiocese.  As all my team mates from those years would recall, whenever I was scheduled to lead a particular retreat, apart from the obvious preparations for the day, including prayer time as a team, it was a requirement that we listen to Are You Gonna Be My Girl by Jet.  This was my ‘pump-up’ song.  With my really bad singing I would listen to this song and get the energy that was needed to get through the day running a retreat with a bunch of crazy teenagers.

6. Your stripper song
I had never even considered the idea of what my stripper song would be before the suggestion of the life-list, but if I had to choose a song it would be Hot in Here by Nelly.  Again this song harks back to my teenage years.  Upon hearing this song I am taken back the parties that were held and the good times that were had, and if I was to strip to any song it might as well be this one.

7. Your ‘end-credits’ song (we rather not think of these as funeral songs)
It may seem strange but this was the easiest song of all the categories for me to choose.  This is because I have had this decided for a while now.  Apart from the hymns that I would like to be played at my funeral, I would like to have a piece called Highland Cathedral – as recorded with the massed pipes and drums – played as the final goodbyes are said and I am laid in my final resting place.  There is something about the massed pipes and drums that stirs deep inside me and this piece resonates with me in a deep way.  Highland Cathedral is therefore a fitting choice for my ‘end-credits’ song.

As you can see the choice of songs in my life-list express a lot about me, not only about my taste in music!  Hopefully this gives you an insight into me and has inspired you to consider what songs would feature in your life-list.

2 thoughts on “Life-List

Leave a comment